Scotiabank Nuit Blanche Toronto

Hey Everyone!

Because tomorrow night I am going to Nuit Blanche for the 6th year I want to write to you about what goes down and what you should plan for!

What is Nuit Blanche? A free all-night contemporary art event.

Where is Nuit Blanche? Streets of Toronto, Ont, Canada.

When is Nuit Blanche? This year it’s Oct 4th, 2014 from 6:53pm to sunrise.

First of all you would want to know more about it so you can check out their website http://www.scotiabanknuitblanche.ca

Prep! You need to know that there are some options for you when you come to this awesome event. For those of you who are out of town or who just want a nice place to stay, they have hotel options for you. I’ve been going to this for awhile so I’ve learnt from my mistakes. The first couple of times I went with friends who lives in Toronto so it wasn’t bad at all, ever since then I’ve went with people from Brampton. Even though Brampton is only 30 mins away it’s hard to get around with transit since no one really comes and goes from Brampton to Toronto. My sister and I for last year and this year got a hotel, it helps a lot of they lower the prices of the REALLY nice hotels. You can find the hotel specials on their website.

What to bring! It’s fall in Toronto and I know global warming is making it all messed up but for this weekend it’s suppose to cold, and wet. Before you head out make sure you 100% check the weather and be prepared for anything!

Dress warm – last year I wore jeans, riding boots (but changed to Toms), Roots sweater and a fake leather Billabong jacket with a toque (I’m just Canadian like that).

Rain, rain, go away – because it says it’s going to rain I plan on bringing a mini umbrella (Shoppers Drug Mart sells them) they fit into a purse and my rain boots just in case.

Bag – DO NOT bring your most expensive purse the you have to carry, bring a cross shoulder bag. I know you I have a big, expensive bag but don’t do it. I usually bring my Coach cross shoulder bag that EVERYONE has. Guys or girls you can also bring a backpack!

Camera/Cell Phone – Take all the pictures you want, I took lots! Use your cell phone camera! Nuit Blanche has their own hash tag, #snbTO Make a fun night of it!

How to get around! YOU WALK! Yup, you need to wear comfortable shoes because you will be walking a shit load! The TTC and Go Train have extended service because you do have to travel to different zones. Nuit Blanche also makes a Speical Event Day Pass, it’s 1 price ($11), unlimited travel! It’s a pretty sweet deal and you should get it because I’ve gotten it and used it every year.

Even Guide/Map! If you check out the website they have it already on there and you can print it out. If not you can find one of their Info Centres they have set up around Toronto to grab one. I really suggest you do this because it has all the zones, where all the art is and it tells you what it is, who made it and a little info on every piece of art.

Where to eat! FOOD TRUCKS! The website has a list of all the food trucks, check them out right away because if you wait you won’t get the really good stuff!

I do suggest going out later because right away it will be crazy busy! I do hope this helps you but can find most of this info and more on their websites. If you have any questions you can ask me as well!

Thanks for reading!
Maeghan.

ps. I will be posting pictures later on!

Leave a Reply

